The RTC's nominated candidates: (L-R) Chris Pagliaro, Jared Martin, Tara Pagano, Chris Anderson, Jess Christ, Lisa Pojano, Monty Du, Chris Wilson, Peter Wrampe, Kim Healy and Jill Warren. Photographed separately was Rich Sandosky.

The Wilton Republican Town Committee met on Wednesday evening, July 21, to choose its slate of candidates to run in the 2021 municipal election. In past years, surprise challengers have emerged from within the party in dramatic fashion to oppose the nominating committee’s choices. But this year was smooth and cohesive for the Wilton GOP as it named its nominees.

Mostly familiar faces filled out the officials for the meeting. The newly-named RTC chair, Peter Wrampe, is a long-time Wilton resident and RTC member; former State Rep. Gail Lavielle was the convention’s moderator; and Warren Serenbetz, who has served on multiple town boards and commissions, including as Board of Finance chair, was parliamentarian. They were joined by relative newcomer Jake Lubel, the new RTC vice-chair who headed up the nominating committee.

The volunteers who stepped up to accept the RTC’s nomination were a mix of incumbents and those running for an elected seat on the town’s boards and commissions the first time. But there was one major surprise regarding someone who was not among the nominees:  Second Selectwoman Lori Bufano, who has served for years on both the Board of Selectmen and the Planning and Zoning Commission, would have been up for re-election but opted not to run again.

That surprise mirrored a similar one at the Wilton Democratic Town Commission nominating convention, happening simultaneously just up the hall. Bufano’s BOS colleague, Selectwoman Deb McFadden, also opted not to run again for re-election.

Here’s who the RTC nominated:

Board of Selectmen:  Kim Healy

Board of Finance (4-year term):  Monty Du, Matt Raimondi and Stewart Koenigsberg (incumbent)

Board of Finance (2-year term):  Rich Santosky

Board of Education:  Jess Christ and Jared Martin (Unaffiliated running on Republican ticket)

Planning and Zoning Commission:  Chris Pagliaro (incumbent), Jill Warren (incumbent) and Chris Wilson

Zoning Board of Appeals:  Justin Anderson

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate:  Tara Pagano

Board of Assessment Appeals:  Christopher Gardner

Constable:  Leann Acosta-Rua (incumbent), Lisa Pojano (incumbent) and Peter Wrampe

Nominating Committee member John Macken praised the nominees to the entire group.

“[My fellow nominating committee members] Jake [Lubel], Bill [Lalor], Gail [Lavielle] and I met with some really impressive people through this process, and I think the candidates we came up with are really, really impressive in their own right but also in the roles that they’re running for,” he said.

One reply on “A Cohesive Wilton GOP Nominates Candidates — Incumbents, Newcomers, and Surprises”

  1. If I were still a resident of Wilton, I’d seek nomination as Republican candidate on BOE.

Comments are closed.