BREAKING NEWS—Thursday, Jan. 7:  After serving on the town’s Miller-Driscoll Building Committee since it was created in May 2013, co-chair Bruce Hampson told the members of the committee at their afternoon meeting today that he had decided to step down, effective today.

His co-chair, Karen Birck, had also resigned her post at the MD Building Committee meeting on Dec. 8. Hampson’s departure leaves the committee without a co-chair.

Hampson said that the town’s recently-hired facilities manager, Christopher Burney, will be able to step in on the oversight of construction matters.

Prior to his service on the MD Building Committee, Hampson had served in some capacity on every capital project undertaken in Wilton since co-chairing the Wilton High School building project, which began in 2007.

Hampson has been recognized for his work on the Miller-Driscoll project. The Democratic Town Committee named Birck and  Hampson “Citizen of the Year” in April 2015 for their work leading the Miller-Driscoll Building Committee. Hampson served as the chairman of the Wilton Energy Commission (2007-2015) and has been recognized for his leadership in sustainability, earning the Connecticut Climate Change Leadership Award in 2010 and the Wilton Go Green Energy Effectiveness Award in 2015.

He was recently honored at a testimonial dinner in December, where he received an official citation from the State of Connecticut General Assembly, read by state Rep. Gail Lavielle (R-143), and an official proclamation by Gov. Dannel Malloy, read by Sen. Toni Boucher (R-26).

During his time on the Miller-Driscoll Building Committee, Hampson has also faced criticism from opponents to the project, including members of  Sensible Wilton and residents affiliated with the ad hoc group.

We’ll have more on this story Friday morning.