The National Merit Scholarship program announced Finalists in the 2020 program, with six Wilton High School students meeting all requirements to advance to Finalist standing: (pictured L-R) Maden J Herve, Alexander Koutsoukos, Vignesh Subramanian, WHS principal Dr. Robert O’Donnell, Ashleigh M. Coltman, Rishabh Raniwala and Jeffrey J. Huang.

More than 15,000 Finalists have been identified across the country from the 16,000 students who were named as Semifinalists in September 2019. To become a Finalist, a Semifinalist must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes evidence of an academic record of very high performance, endorsement by the school principal, SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier qualifying test performance, a self-descriptive essay and evidence of the student’s participation and leadership in school and community activities. These students are now eligible for National Merit Scholarship recognition, which will be awarded in spring 2020.

Disclosure:  GOOD Morning Wilton’s editor is related to one of the students recognized. We cover this announcement each year with information provided in press releases by the NMSC and WHS, and have published this year’s story in the same way as in past years.