In their March meeting Thursday evening, March 3, the Wilton Democratic Town Committee (DTC) elected officers for the 2016-2018 term. The committee elected longstanding vice-chair Deborah McFadden to the office of chair, praising her record of experience and dedication to Wilton and to the DTC.

“Deb has been a champion for this town and the party as long as I’ve known her. I know that she will be a strong leader in this important election year and beyond,” said outgoing chair, Maryli Secrest.

Secrest will continue to serve the DTC as secretary and Jon Tan was re-elected as treasurer. New to the executive committee is Tom Dubin, whom the DTC elected to serve as vice-chair.

“I would like to thank Maryli for her service as chair, and look forward to working with her, Tom, Jon and the outstanding members of this committee over the next two years,” said McFadden. “I will strive to build a party that is dynamic and inclusive, and would like to thank the DTC for their confidence in me to carry out that mission.”

The DTC also elected chairs to key committees on Thursday, including campaign, platform, nominating, membership and communications.

The Wilton Democratic Town Committee serves to promote the Democratic Party by supporting candidates for municipal, state and federal office, as well as advocating for policy that supports the party’s platform.