Wilton politics has entered the Vanderslice era effective today, Tuesday, Dec. 1, as Lynne Vanderslice was officially sworn in as the town’s first selectman at a ceremony last night at Old Town Hall.

While it might be a new era under the aegis of a new first selectman, Vanderslice was quick to acknowledge how much the job she was undertaking relied on many others, both town employees and volunteers, as she referred to her fellow newly-elected officials who took the oath of office just minutes before she did Monday evening.

“I’m not sure if everyone in the public realizes how many people it takes to run the town, but we’re so fortunate in this community that we have so many volunteers who give up their time,” she told the crowd of about 50 people. “On behalf of the community I want to say thank you and it’s very much appreciated. I’m looking forward to working with all of you.”

She also joked as her outgoing predecessor of 10 years, Bill Brennan, had handed her the keys to Town Hall and her office during the applause just following her swearing in:  “I’m anxious to get there and now I’ve got the keys, so I’ll be there bright and early tomorrow.”

YouTube video

Indeed, as town clerk Lori Kaback, swore in Wilton’s 17 other new officials, it reflected what the evening’s chair (and outgoing Board of Finance member) Al Alper called a changing of the guard:  “Out with the old, and in with the new, as newly elected members are sworn in and write their oath of office…and assume the responsibility of town governance, as some of us will go home to our families.”

The officials were sworn in as groups by board or commission, and then signed for their copies of the Town Charter and the Code of Ethics books. The mood was lighthearted and upbeat, and the main event was finished in under half an hour. That left plenty of time for the officials (both ex-officio and current) to socialize on what might be the most anticipation-filled, and least pressure-filled, of the coming term.

Wilton certainly is eager to see where it goes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The officials who were sworn in last night include (in order of swearing in):


John Gardner

Zoning Board of Appeals

Tracy Serpa
Andrea Preston
Libby Bufano
Gary Battaglia
Joshua Cole

Planning and Zoning

Lori Bufano
Scott Lawrence
Keith Rodgerson

Board of Education

Christine Finkelstein
Lory Rothstein
Laura Schwemm

Board of Finance

Walter Kress
Peter Balderston
John Kalamarides

Board of Selectman

Mike Kaelin
David K. Clune

First Selectman

Lynne Vanderslice