In her update last night to Wilton residents, First Selectwoman Lynne Vanderslice indicated that the COVID-19 case count report provided by the State Department of Public Health isn’t always reliable. She wrote that Wilton Health Director Barry Bogle was told about three new positive cases revealed through tests performed within the last few days that weren’t included in Tuesday’s CT DPH report. The report reflected no change to Wilton case numbers, which it showed at 248 total.

What’s more, those three weren’t the only recent tests Bogle’s department is aware of that also don’t appear on the state report. They join another three positive tests previously reported to Wilton’s health officials that have yet to be ‘officially’ counted by the state. That’s six tests in all that aren’t on the report.

What the Sept. 1 state update does say is that the statewide number of cases increased by 127 as of Aug. 31, four new patients were hospitalized, and one person died.

Vanderslice reminded residents that she has reduced the number of COVID-19-related updates to two posts a week, generally on Mondays and Thursdays, adding, “I provide additional updates when there is a change in Wilton cases or when the Governor issues an executive order with widespread impact or when there is a matter of significant impact, such as the recent Tropic Storm.”

Two Items from Gov. Lamont

On Tuesday, Gov. Ned Lamont renewed his declaration of the public health emergency and civil preparedness emergencies throughout the State, to remain in effect until February 9, 2021, unless terminated earlier. Lamont first implemented the emergency declaration on March 10, 2020.

Also Tuesday, the governors of New York and New Jersey joined with Lamont in adding two states–Alaska and Montana–to the regional travel advisory. Anyone traveling into Connecticut from a state or region on the list (with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10% test positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average) is directed to self-quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

There are now 33 locations on the travel advisory list.