We’ve received word of some positive results for the Wilton soccer players competing in Italy with Wilton Soccer coaching director John-Christopher Salvatore. The girls and boys teams are representing the United States as team “East Coast Rush” at the San Marino Cup, Italy’s largest youth soccer tournament.

The category F girls’ soccer team (born 2003-2005) has won all of its matches thus far:  on Tuesday, July 11, they beat ASD Riccione 9-0; on Wednesday, July 12, they bested ASD Real Meda 5-1; and on Thursday, July 13 they won 2-0 over Mosta FC Elite Academy. The team takes on San Diego Soccer Club on Friday, July 14 in the morning and then Atletico Femminile in the afternoon. If they reach the finals, they’ll play on Saturday, July 15.

Current standings for the Category F girls’ team as of Thursday evening have East Coast Rush in second place behind first-place San Diego SC by just 3 pts. (12-9).

The category H girls’ soccer team (born 1998-2000) has a tournament record of 1-1-1 so far:  the team beat ASD Riccione 3-0 on Tuesday, but fell to Calico Femminile Tabiago 0-2 on Wednesday; they tied USD Amicizia Lagaccio 1-1 on Thursday. They’ll compete in the semifinals on Friday against ASD Real Meda with final round matches on Saturday.

The category C boys’ team (born 2002-2003) haven’t yet won a game but they have two more games scheduled to play.

Wilton Soccer coaching director John-Christopher Salvatore selected players from both Wilton Youth Soccer’s Travel program and the CT Rush club. In all, there are 36 players and 45 supporters attending the annual event with Salvatore, including coaches and families.

In total seven boys and seven girls, all from Wilton, are participating in the San Marino Cup tournament. Among the Wilton players on the boys’ roster are Zachary Abud, Kyle Aleksiejczyk, Connor Allen, Arman Peters, Karl Pfeiffer, John Oliver Sharpe, and Michael Zizzadoro. The girls’ team includes Wilton athletes Ellen Chiappetta, Kiana Gow, Mairhead Kehoe, Riley Milhoua, Samantha Nichols, Akria Nobumoto, and Madeline Wecker.