Tuesday, Aug. 14 is the day for Connecticut’s primary for statewide and local offices. We’ve got your guide to the who-what-when-where-and-how of primary voting in Wilton

Does Everyone Get to Vote Tuesday?

Connecticut’s primaries are “closed” primaries—voters have to be registered as a Republican or a Democrat to vote. Voters are also only able to vote for the party with which they’re registered.

I’m not a registered voter, can I still register and vote in the primary?

While the deadline has passed for unaffiliated voters or new voters to register online or by mail, there is still a chance for anyone in those categories to register to vote—it must be done in person, on Monday, Aug. 13 by noon at the Town Hall offices of the registrar of voters or town clerk (238 Danbury Rd.). Anyone with questions can call the registrars’ office for more details at 203.563.0111.

Connecticut Voters registered with a party cannot switch their registration at this point.

Where do I vote?

Wilton is divided into three different voting districts, each with its own distinct polling place. All three of Wilton’s polling places will be open from 6 a.m.-8 p.m. on Primary Day. Both Democrats and Republicans vote in the same polling place.

  • District 1 votes at Wilton High School (Clune Center) 395 Danbury Rd.
  • District 2 at Cider Mill School (Main Gym) 240 School Rd.
  • District 3 at Middlebrook School (Cafeteria) 131 School Rd.

IMPORTANT UPDATE:  With expected hot weather on Election Day, Wilton’s registrars of voters have changed the location of the District 3 polling place. It will still be at Middlebrook School, but move from the gym (which has no air conditioning) to the cafeteria. District 3 voters will still use the rear parking lot at Middlebrook School, and enter the building through the door under the canopy. Once inside the school voters should turn right and walk down a short hallway to the cafeteria.

If you are not sure of which district you’re in, visit the registrars’ webpage on the town’s website to input your street address, or to view a voting district map.

Who am I voting for?

While we can’t tell you which candidate you should cast a ballot for, we’ve got ways you can find out more about the candidates on the ballots.



Mark Boughton
Timothy M. Herbst
Steve Obsitnik
Bob Stefanowski
David Stemerman

Lieutenant Governor

Joe Markley
Jayme Stevenson
Erin E. Stewart

United States Senator

Matthew Corey
Dominic Rapini


Thad Gray
Art Linares


Kurt Miller
Mark Greenberg

Attorney General

Sue Hatfield
John Shaban



Ned Lamont
Joe Ganim

Lieutenant Governor

Susan Bysiewicz
Eva Bermudez Zimmerman


Shawn Wooden
Dita Bhargava

Attorney General

William Tong
Paul R. Doyle
Chris Mattei

Judge of Probate

Doug Stern
Darnell D. Crossland