Security Task Force Thanks Wilton Voters

The following is a press release from the Wilton Security Task Force.

Last Thursday, May 29, Hal Clark, chairman of the Wilton Security Task Force, opened the first meeting after the town’s approval of the Task Force’s recommendations by thanking the voters for their support.

“The Task Force is very pleased that the voters approved both the security personnel and structural enhancements to our schools. They recognized that our environment has changed and we must do everything practical to protect our children,” Clark said.

The Task Force’s work continues as they meet with the appropriate vendors to evaluate and then contract for the physical security enhancements for our schools. They hope to have the most critical work and installations completed before fall classes begin.

Wilton Police Chief Michael Lombardo, vice chairman of the Task Force, said that he would meet with the private schools in Wilton and review with them what we are doing in the public schools.

The Task Force has been meeting for over a year and its members, in addition to Clark and Lombardo, include Wilton residents Terrie Schwartz, formerly with the FBI and Homeland Security; John Logan, United Nations Security; Ken Post, BOE Chief Financial Officer; John Murphy, BOE Chief of Facilities; Jory Higgins, BOE and Second Administrator at Middlebrook; John Suchy, who has an extensive law enforcement background, and Roseann DeSimone, Health Educator at Wilton High School, who plays key role in school lockdowns.

“Security in our schools is a critical issue facing our town, our state and our nation.  The Security Task Force recommendations approved by the voters provide security measures that will help keep our schools and our children safe in their learning environments,” Clark said.