First Selectwoman Lynne Vanderslice announced that Wilton has been awarded Sustainable CT Bronze certification. Sustainable CT is a statewide initiative that inspires and supports communities in becoming more efficient, resilient, and inclusive.

In its application, Wilton demonstrated significant achievements in the nine required sustainable impact areas, ranging from natural resources and efficient buildings to clean transportation. Wilton’s successfully completed actions included Norwalk River restoration, the schools’ zero waste program, parks and grounds’ green grounds program and the town’s renewable energy program.

“Wilton has been and will continue to be a leader in sustainability,” Vanderslice said. “We appreciate this recognition of our community wide efforts. The application process to detail those accomplishments was a true team effort. Former Wilton Energy Commission (WEC) chair Debra Thompson-Van and WEC member Kevin Gardiner spearheaded the process. Much thanks go to them and the following residents and town employees who assisted with the application:  Jackie Algon, Anna Marie Bilella, Chris Burney, Mike Conklin, Lori Fusco, Patrice Gillespie, Sarah Gioffre, Dana Gips, Eileen Griffen, David Heiden, Glenn Hemmerle, Rudolf Hoefling, Richard Hubli, Doug Katz, Deb McFadden, Nicole Johnson-Murphy, Steve Pierce, Tammy Thornton and Peter Wrampe.”

Certification lasts three years, with the state’s first cohort of municipalities certified in 2018. Collectively, 47 municipalities have earned Sustainable CT certification.

Lynn Stoddard, executive director of the Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut State University, which administers the program, had congratulations for Wilton. “We are inspired by your leadership and eager to share your accomplishments in building efficient, thriving, and resilient communities.”

Sustainable CT is philanthropically funded, with strong support from its three founding funders:  the Emily Hall Tremaine Foundation, the Common Sense Fund, and the Smart Seed Fund.

Wilton and other certified communities will also be recognized on Dec. 3 at the Annual Convention of the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities.